top of page

From Drama to Thriller

I've noticed within the past few months (maybe even the past year) that my calling from Drama is getting more...edgy to say the least. In a totally good way! Ever since I've written my script The Pines (which was awarded Top 100 Finalists and is submitted into another competition), I've noticed my mind has been craving a challenge that normal drama can not fill. So I've been going back to my roots (my childhood state of NJ) and finding that my best work is getting inspired by urban legends, ghost stories and keeping the theme The Pines introduced me to.


Creating features inspired by folklore is a whole other challenge. I'm on a in-progress script I can't wait to complete that was something I never thought I'd write. On table reads I got the feedback of it "sounding like Stephen King" vibes (whether they mean his movies or his stories I will take either as a compliment). I even picked up Salem's Lot to add to my library in hopes that I'll be inspired by his spooky stories. The funny thing is I never read Stephen King as much as I would love to (very nightmare prone so it makes me avoid such stories). BUT I'm trying to grow into different tales, even scary ones, within this year and next.


I'm finding that the darker subjects that make you sucked into this thriller/supernatural environment is oddly where I feel most at home when I write. And with the outstanding feedback of the "oooh" and "AHH!" from my peers, it makes me motivated to write. Even so that my latest production story was in fact a thriller possibly even supernatural entity in it of itself.


So GOALS for 2019-into 2020:

1. Don't be afraid to write what you love (Even if that means strange, crazy ghost story folklore) and make it almost real and new.


2. Polishing up my now 4 scripts: 2 features, one short story that I might even make into a feature OR just have my own voice on it AND a TV Pilot while I'm on my holiday break. Making them ready for competitions next year.


3. JUST HAVE FUN! AND DON'T BE AFRAID OF WHAT YOU WRITE!


Drama still holds a special place in my heart as I lean towards most genres. I don't mind comedy but I met a lot of very funny writers that make me look like an amateur. So why not write what I'm more invested in? Besides nothing in drama writing says I can't have a joke here or there. I have to say though. Supernatural thriller is becoming a great fun and exciting challenge I hope to continue.


I'll be sure to show updates of my writing and film work as we go! Until then watch my latest film featuring the great Jennifer-Marie Smith and Le'Priesh Roman and enjoy!


IN THE DARK, Written and Directed by Courtney Adkisson




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page